Fashion

velvet dreams

I’m developing a slight velvet obsession. Okay, slight is definitely an understatement.

I’m so happy velvet has come back around into fashion again, I adore the luxe look and the feel too. I think the fabric is both flattering and forgiving (isn’t that everything you need and want from an item of clothing!?!) I also find that velvet completely transforms any piece, you take just an average t-shirt dress, make it velvet and bam you look like a Grecian Goddess. Take a simple cami top make it velvet and bam you’ve got pure luxury. I’ve been able to wear velvet both casual and smart which I love, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… lazy dresser!

Here a few from my collection which is bound to keep growing, especially as the days get warmer.

 

1dwtQTT%Qr2lGonzwcL6Kw_thumb_b47

This H&M dusky pink strappy top is ideal for taking any simple outfit and making it that bit extra. I think paired with a simple pair of high waisted black skinnies or a black skirt and some wicked heels, this would be a winning outfit any day of the week. And so goddamn simple! I’m so excited to start wearing this more and more in spring and summer!

fMR9rJb6RV6NNY5+S8LG5A_thumb_b4c

This Brave Soul long sleeve navy blue top I found great for trips to the pub or a bar in autumn/winter and will still be great for spring too I’m hoping, theres enough of a sleeve that you won’t get cold but then when it was a bit colder it was perfect to just through a coat on top. A perfect understated top.

hfBwQQHqSOiKQ1NLDcFDtQ_thumb_b49

This ASOS off shoulder black top I absolutely LOVE. It is pitch black I feel like the contrast from my palepale skin is quite sexy really. Its also really long (about hip length) which could make it quite casual, but it makes its great piece to tuck in to high waisted items. Which is what I did- I wore it with a high waist dusky purple midi chiffon skirt to a big family wedding in the winter which was perfect. The long velvet sleeves were warm in the December wind and it was so comfortable. It is also SO glamorous, the sheen from it really gives an old-hollywood look, especially matched with a true red lip!

vR8WKwjETPuYm6DBdXDfOA_thumb_b4d

This was my New Year’s Eve dress! It is absolutely beautiful, and the dress that makes me feel like a Grecian Goddess. It is literally a simple T-shirt dress with slight bell sleeves but the golden velvet makes it so luxury and glam. It did wash me out very slightly as I am super pale but I didn’t really mind, I’d forgive a dress this pretty. I styled this with a skinny belt to give me a bit more shape and a chunky coat for warmth. However, as spring and summer gets nearer I think a biker jacket and some chunky black heeled boots will look so cool and give a really wicked modern grungy look.

Thanks for popping by abitofPeace x

 

2 thoughts on “velvet dreams

  1. These are such gorgeous pieces! I love the H&M strappy pink top and the ASOS off the shoulder black top 💕 Oooh! And your gold dress!!! That’s amazing. I have serious clothes envy! 💋

    Like

Leave a Reply

